Florida Deemed the Worst State for Car Accidents
A WalletHub study that was released this week stated that due to the amount of uninsured drivers on the road and the minimal insurance standards that are required, Florida is considered to be the worst state to be involved in a car crash. The study investigated different criteria in each state in the U.S. and ultimately based its rankings on the availability of car liability insurance to protect others, other forms of insurance that would protect you as a driver, and the percentage of uninsured drivers that are on the road.
According to WalletHub’s managing editor Karl Eisenhower, “Florida has the worst combination of lots of uninsured drivers, and low-minimum requirements for drivers who do have insurance.” In comparison to most states in the U.S., Florida’s insurance requirements are lower. The study also revealed that 23.8 percent of Florida drivers have either no insurance at all or ignore the insurance requirement laws.
In hopes of solving the obvious immediate problem that Florida has regarding insurance and coverage for personal injury, Florida implemented a personal-injury protection (PIP) program in 2013. The program was implemented to reduce the amount of fraud in the system and to give better protection to drivers. The program, which has been under attack due to debate over its use, was considered a last-ditch effort by lawmakers to keep the no-fault system in Florida. The program produced several laws and regulations, including lower rates for insurance coverage.
Many lawmakers and politicians are pushing for the state to go back to a bodily injury system instead of the no-fault system. Under the bodily injury system, if an individual causes a car accident in which another person is injured, the insurance will cover the damages for which the at-fault party is responsible
A report that was recently produced showed that since the law went into place in 2013, there has been a drop in the number of personal-injury protection claims filed and dollars sought, however, claims filed under coverage types, such as bodily injury and uninsured motorists, have gone up. While there is an ongoing debate as to whether or not the program is working and whether the regulations that were implemented should be kept, the laws are currently still in place.
Florida’s No-Fault System
While each state in the U.S. has its own set of regulations and laws regarding auto accidents and insurance, Florida currently follows a no-fault system in regards to accidents and insurance. Under the current system, Florida motorists are required to carry at least $10,000 in medical benefits for personal-injury protection coverage. Those involved in an accident are entitled to up to $10,000 in benefits for emergency medical treatment and $2,500 for non-emergency treatment. The no-fault system also requires anyone that was involved in an automobile crash to seek medical treatment within 14 days of the accident.
Reach Out to a Florida Attorney for Help
If you were injured in a car accident, it is in your best interests to reach out to an attorney for help. While it may be a confusing and complicated time for you, we can walk you through the process of filing a claim. From our office in Brandon, we help clients in Tampa, New Tampa, Plant City, East Hillsborough County and throughout the state of Florida. Contact Reed & Reed for a free consultation.